jpweber
  •  jpweber
  • 94.4% (Exalted)
  • YAF Commander Topic Starter
2012-12-12T17:13:46Z
I have a main website with 5 master pages (asp.net 4 /vb).

Of course, YAF is written in C#.

Is there a way to incorporate these master pages -- although they're in vb -- into my YAF forum? The answer may be a simple "no". But if there is a way, any guidance could be truly appreciated!
Jason Weber
USS Vision YAF 
"Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons"
Sponsor
tha_watcha
2012-12-13T12:04:37Z
Yes it is possible you can mix, in .NET both C# and VB.NET. The only thing you can not do is mixing both in one file.

If you want to include yaf in your master Page, you can do that by simply adding the YAF Forum Control to your Page.

<YAF:Forum runat="server" ID="forum" BoardID="1" />

and reference it
<%@ Register TagPrefix="YAF" Assembly="YAF" Namespace="YAF" %>

Maybe i should create an VB.NET Version of my YAF.SampleWebApplication
UserPostedImage
jpweber
  •  jpweber
  • 94.4% (Exalted)
2012-12-13T15:50:29Z
Hehe ... thanks Watcha. I can't believe I typed that question in here. I thought I typed it into stackexchange.com ...

I have never tried to use a VB.NET master page on a C# application -- if I can get this to work, it'll be a first -- for sure! I was always quite sure it wasn't possible, but we'll find out!

Wow ... redoing YAF in VB.NET? That'd be a project! Lots of work! Thanks again watchya.
Jason Weber
USS Vision YAF 
tha_watcha
2012-12-31T15:31:05Z
Originally Posted by: jpweber 

Hehe ... thanks Watcha. I can't believe I typed that question in here. I thought I typed it into stackexchange.com ...

I have never tried to use a VB.NET master page on a C# application -- if I can get this to work, it'll be a first -- for sure! I was always quite sure it wasn't possible, but we'll find out!

Wow ... redoing YAF in VB.NET? That'd be a project! Lots of work! Thanks again watchya.