Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Back2TheRoots  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 18, 2017 9:04:11 PM(UTC)
Back2TheRoots


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 3

Just downloaded the sample app (C#). I have SQL Server 2014 installed on my machine so wanted to attach the database in App_Data folder.
I copied the .mdf and .ldf files to "Data" folder of SQL Server installation folder, opened SQL Server and when I selected the files to attach I got an error : "The database cannot be opened because it is version 851. This server supports version 782 and earlier. A downgrade path is not supported".
Is this database done in MS SQL 2016? If so, is there a 2014 version available?
Thanks.
Sponsor
Offline tha_watcha  
#2 Posted : Friday, October 20, 2017 5:19:44 PM(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 3/6/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,721
Germany

Thanks: 70 times
Was thanked: 1147 time(s) in 977 post(s)
Its just an empty database. I think its more easy if you create a new db in your sql server, and adjust the connection string to your server and the db in the db.config
Offline Back2TheRoots  
#3 Posted : Saturday, October 21, 2017 11:53:10 AM(UTC)
Back2TheRoots


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 3

I found a SQL 2016 DB and tried to "attach" the .mdf file found in App_data folder and there was no database file, so I guess you are right, DB is empty. I don't see the point of adding an empty DB; usually there are some table structures even though they are empty and a couple of tables with some default records.
I can create an empty DB but what tables go into it?! some info in a "ReadMe.txt" file would have been helpful.
Offline Back2TheRoots  
#4 Posted : Saturday, October 21, 2017 3:42:22 PM(UTC)
Back2TheRoots


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 10/18/2017(UTC)
Posts: 3

As I though: it is complaining about missing SP:

"Could not find stored procedure 'dbo.yaf_registry_list'."

So, an empty database does not seem to be the solution. Something is wrong with the database included in the sample project files. Why wold the sample project look for a stored procedure if the included database is empty.
Offline tha_watcha  
#5 Posted : Saturday, October 21, 2017 7:58:13 PM(UTC)
tha_watcha


Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.

Joined: 3/6/2010(UTC)
Posts: 3,721
Germany

Thanks: 70 times
Was thanked: 1147 time(s) in 977 post(s)
The Active Discussion Module on the default page doesn't have a check if the forum is installed. You need to run the Install Wizard Manually via /Install/Default.aspx

then the database will be initialized.

I updated the sample project

https://github.com/YAFNET/YAF.SampleWebApplication/releases/download/v2.2.4.4/YAF.SampleWebApplication-v2.2.4.4-C.zip

Now the Install wizard is automatically initialized.


Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error