tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
The same result on iPhone SE (no remnants from previous visits at all):
photo5215631937656433229.jpg
tha_watcha
  • Posts: 4130
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
when i view the page online i can see still the value 75vw applied
UserPostedImage
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
I swear, forum.min.css on the server contains this setting:
.yafnet .code{max-width:65vw;}

Now my turn to ask - have you cleared the browser cache before accessing the forum page?
tha_watcha
  • Posts: 4130
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
sorry i think now i found it

.yafnet .selectionQuoteable {
    max-width: 65vw;
    word-break: break-word;
}


and

.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code
 {
    max-width: 65vw;
}

UserPostedImage
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
No effect...
Do you have an Android phone (or an emulator) to check your suggestions?
tha_watcha
  • Posts: 4130
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
Originally Posted by: tecman 

No effect...
Do you have an Android phone (or an emulator) to check your suggestions?



Remove the

.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code {
    max-width: 85vw;
}


from the theme.css


UserPostedImage
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
Yeah, that finally works!!

As for me, 65vw is so small. I would use 90vw or a value near it.
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
But I do not like how it looks on a big pc screen:
2019-03-15_16h57_55.png
As you can see, there is much space for code blocks, but they are just 750px limited...
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
To make consistent look for all code/quote/attachment blocks, I simply removed .yafnet .code{max-width:750px;} from forum.min.css. Agreed?
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
A quick recap:

1) Remove the following from Content/forum.min.css:
.yafnet .code{max-width:750px;}


2) Remove the following from themes/Yafmobile/theme.css:
.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code {
    max-width: 85vw;
}


3) Add the following to Content/forum.min.css:
.yafnet .selectionQuoteable{max-width: 75vw;word-break: break-word;}.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code{max-width:75vw;}


This creates a more or less acceptable look on both Android phone and big pc screen.

How I am tired of all this... Something like this good look should be available out-of-the-box.
tha_watcha
  • Posts: 4130
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
Sure, I will implement this in the next big fix release. I'm working on to separate versions right now. I can't test all the use cases anymore with the old version.

The new version with the new layout is mobile first.

P.s. Did this also solves the issue with the buttons in the cookie Dialog?
UserPostedImage
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
No, the buttons in the cookie dialog are still aligned awkwardly.

Why don't you place these buttons below the text? It could be a simple table-based layout with two rows - one row for text, the other for the buttons. This would solve all problems. Keep it simple 🙂
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
Look at the following long screenshot demonstrating how our forum page looks with all our recent changes in the css files:
  Screenshot_20190319_163407_com.android.chrome.jpg (1,408kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
Pay attention to the sizes of the quotes, code and file attachment blocks. See, they have different widths and left/right margins? I think they should have the same alignment parameters. Fix it in the next servicing update, PLEASE.

BTW, these blocks are now positioned and sized correctly in the non-mobile version of the forum.
tha_watcha
  • Posts: 4130
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
Originally Posted by: tecman 

Look at the following long screenshot demonstrating how our forum page looks with all our recent changes in the css files:
  Screenshot_20190319_163407_com.android.chrome.jpg (1,408kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
Pay attention to the sizes of the quotes, code and file attachment blocks. See, they have different widths and left/right margins? I think they should have the same alignment parameters. Fix it in the next servicing update, PLEASE.

BTW, these blocks are now positioned and sized correctly in the non-mobile version of the forum.



Issue should be fixed in 2.24.16
UserPostedImage
tecman
  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
Have just upgraded to 2.2.5. The same problem with code blocks.

I was going to upload a screenshot demonstrating how it looks in the newest version, but unfortunately file uploading does not work on this forum anymore...
Users browsing this topic
    Forum Jump  
    • You cannot post new topics in this forum.
    • You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
    • You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
    • You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
    • You cannot create polls in this forum.
    • You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

    About Us

    The YAF.NET is an open source .NET forum project. YAF.NET is supported by an team of international developers who are build community by building community software.

    Powered by Resharper Donate with PayPal button

    Project Twitter Updates

    Copyright © YetAnotherForum.NET & Ingo Herbote. All rights reserved