#16
The same result on iPhone SE (no remnants from previous visits at all):
photo5215631937656433229.jpg
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#17
when i view the page online i can see still the value 75vw applied
test
  • tha_watcha
  • Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Medals:
    Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
  • Posts: 3,976
  •  Germany
  • Thanks: 73 times
  • Was thanked: 1199 time(s) in 1027 post(s)
#18
I swear, forum.min.css on the server contains this setting:
.yafnet .code{max-width:65vw;}

Now my turn to ask - have you cleared the browser cache before accessing the forum page?
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#19
sorry i think now i found it

.yafnet .selectionQuoteable {
    max-width: 65vw;
    word-break: break-word;
}


and

.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code
 {
    max-width: 65vw;
}

test
  • tha_watcha
  • Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Medals:
    Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
  • Posts: 3,976
  •  Germany
  • Thanks: 73 times
  • Was thanked: 1199 time(s) in 1027 post(s)
#20
No effect...
Do you have an Android phone (or an emulator) to check your suggestions?
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#21
Originally Posted by: tecman

No effect...
Do you have an Android phone (or an emulator) to check your suggestions?



Remove the

.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code {
    max-width: 85vw;
}


from the theme.css


test
  • tha_watcha
  • Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Medals:
    Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
  • Posts: 3,976
  •  Germany
  • Thanks: 73 times
  • Was thanked: 1199 time(s) in 1027 post(s)
#22
Yeah, that finally works!!

As for me, 65vw is so small. I would use 90vw or a value near it.
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#23
But I do not like how it looks on a big pc screen:
2019-03-15_16h57_55.png
As you can see, there is much space for code blocks, but they are just 750px limited...
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#24
To make consistent look for all code/quote/attachment blocks, I simply removed .yafnet .code{max-width:750px;} from forum.min.css. Agreed?
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#25
A quick recap:

1) Remove the following from Content/forum.min.css:
.yafnet .code{max-width:750px;}


2) Remove the following from themes/Yafmobile/theme.css:
.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code {
    max-width: 85vw;
}


3) Add the following to Content/forum.min.css:
.yafnet .selectionQuoteable{max-width: 75vw;word-break: break-word;}.yafnet div.code div, .yafnet div.code{max-width:75vw;}


This creates a more or less acceptable look on both Android phone and big pc screen.

How I am tired of all this... Something like this good look should be available out-of-the-box.
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#26
Sure, I will implement this in the next big fix release. I'm working on to separate versions right now. I can't test all the use cases anymore with the old version.

The new version with the new layout is mobile first.

P.s. Did this also solves the issue with the buttons in the cookie Dialog?
test
  • tha_watcha
  • Rank: YAF.NET Project Lead
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Medals:
    Medal of Honor: Portal Puzzle Master: Portal Puzzle Master for DNNMedal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.DNN Master: DNN Module ManBug Killer Medal of Honor: Medal for being a kick-ass bug killer!Medal of Honor for the Support King: Support King! Amazing asset to the YAF.NET Community.
  • Joined: 06/03/2010
  • Posts: 3,976
  •  Germany
  • Thanks: 73 times
  • Was thanked: 1199 time(s) in 1027 post(s)
#27
No, the buttons in the cookie dialog are still aligned awkwardly.

Why don't you place these buttons below the text? It could be a simple table-based layout with two rows - one row for text, the other for the buttons. This would solve all problems. Keep it simple 🙂
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
#28
Look at the following long screenshot demonstrating how our forum page looks with all our recent changes in the css files:
 Screenshot_20190319_163407_com.android.chrome.jpg (1,408kb) downloaded 5 time(s).
Pay attention to the sizes of the quotes, code and file attachment blocks. See, they have different widths and left/right margins? I think they should have the same alignment parameters. Fix it in the next servicing update, PLEASE.

BTW, these blocks are now positioned and sized correctly in the non-mobile version of the forum.
Topic Starter
  • tecman
  • Rank: YAF All-the-Time
  • Reputation:
    Exalted
    100%
  • Joined: 20/09/2013
  • Posts: 150
  • Thanks: 8 times
Forum Jump  
  • You cannot post new topics in this forum.
  • You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
  • You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
  • You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
  • You cannot create polls in this forum.
  • You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

About Us

The YAF.NET is an open source .NET forum project. YAF.NET is supported by an team of international developers who are build community by building community software.

Powered by Resharper Donate with PayPal button

Project Twitter Updates

Copyright © YetAnotherForum.NET & Ingo Herbote. All rights reserved