Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.
12 Pages«<101112
Options
View
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Jaben  
#166 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 3:27:17 PM(UTC)
Jaben


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 10/9/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,549
Location: United States

Thanks: 142 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 199 post(s)
YOu need to need some good hardware on that SQL database machine...
Offline Jaben  
#167 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 3:31:29 PM(UTC)
Jaben


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 10/9/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,549
Location: United States

Thanks: 142 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 199 post(s)
jdadojr wrote:
I again made some modification and make it a litte faster now.

I can see that the yaf_topic_latest will return all the
topics that a user has rights to(all 13K of topics that is).

I modify the yaf_topic_latest to return nothing at all
and looks like there is no effect on the forum itself but much faster response.


yaf_topic_latest does not return all topics...

That's what this line is for:

SET ROWCOUNT @NumPosts
Offline jdadojr  
#168 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 3:47:39 PM(UTC)
jdadojr


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 4/1/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9

your right, i will look more on this
Offline Jaben  
#169 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:10:07 PM(UTC)
Jaben


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 10/9/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,549
Location: United States

Thanks: 142 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 199 post(s)
Can you answer the question about the db hardware? I will take further discussion about performance with a grain of salt if you aren't talking about serious hosting.

YAF is DB intensive. SQL Server is resource intensive. There are no free lunches.

Of course, improvements can be made... but I have to know you are being realistic with your expectations.

Are you using "shared" SQL Server hosting?

Edited by user Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:12:42 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline jdadojr  
#170 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:37:41 PM(UTC)
jdadojr


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 4/1/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9

We are using a dedicated Xeon Quad 1.86 Ghz with 1GRam, Serial ATA/Raid 5
these are the only hardware details that I know of.
IIS also resides on this machine

Offline Jaben  
#171 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:39:16 PM(UTC)
Jaben


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 10/9/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,549
Location: United States

Thanks: 142 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 199 post(s)
GET MORE RAM. That is WAY, WAY too little ram for a server that is running both IIS and SQL Server.

Minimum 3GB -- the more the better.

Also... we're talking "real" SQL server here, right? Not SQL Server Express?

Edited by user Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:40:31 PM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Jaben  
#172 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 4:42:33 PM(UTC)
Jaben


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 10/9/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,549
Location: United States

Thanks: 142 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 199 post(s)
Also... that could explain your speed problems... The ASP.NET caching mechinism doesn't work AT ALL with low RAM resources. It's considered "low priority" and with low system resources it will constantly push the cache out of memory creating a sitution where nothing is cached... so a trip to the DB every time.

If in fact, you are running 1GB of ram. (Please double-check.)
Offline jdadojr  
#173 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 5:11:08 PM(UTC)
jdadojr


Rank: YAF Forumling

Reputation:

Joined: 4/1/2008(UTC)
Posts: 9

yes its a real mssql
more memory, hmmm..
okey i will try to have it upgraded..
Offline agibby5  
#174 Posted : Tuesday, April 15, 2008 9:38:51 PM(UTC)
agibby5

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Joined: 3/5/2008(UTC)
Posts: 14

jdadojr wrote:
yes its a real mssql
more memory, hmmm..
okey i will try to have it upgraded..


RAM is really, really cheap right now too... no reason not to upgrade.
Offline Jaben  
#175 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2008 6:56:31 AM(UTC)
Jaben


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.YAF.NET Supporter: Loves YAF.NET!YAF.NET Supporter: Supports our efforts. Thank you.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 10/9/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,549
Location: United States

Thanks: 142 times
Was thanked: 358 time(s) in 199 post(s)
agibby5 wrote:

RAM is really, really cheap right now too... no reason not to upgrade.


That's not true across the board. DDR3 is not cheap. DD2 is cheap... but it could be an older server which requires DDR.

Edited by user Wednesday, April 16, 2008 6:58:22 AM(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline agibby5  
#176 Posted : Wednesday, April 16, 2008 7:30:31 AM(UTC)
agibby5

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Joined: 3/5/2008(UTC)
Posts: 14

Jaben wrote:
agibby5 wrote:

RAM is really, really cheap right now too... no reason not to upgrade.


That's not true across the board. DDR3 is not cheap. DD2 is cheap... but it could be an older server which requires DDR.


Not always true... but given the specs he mentioned, I figured it was DDR or DDR2, both are very affordable right now.
Offline herman_herman  
#177 Posted : Monday, April 21, 2008 7:40:24 PM(UTC)
herman_herman


Rank: YAF MVP

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor for the SQL Scout: Medal for kicking ass at SQL and helping with database development.Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.Medal of Honor for The Eyes of the Community: Given for being a community hawk, always watching and helping fellow users.

Joined: 5/18/2007(UTC)
Posts: 529
Man
Iran (Islamic Republic Of)

Thanks: 72 times
Was thanked: 47 time(s) in 38 post(s)
jdadojr wrote:
Hi there yavdevs, currently I am stress testing your yaf. Putting in around 40K users and 3Million posts.
As I have noticed, slowdowns and bottlenecks causing sql timeouts are in the sql aggregation queries.
You may need to have tables for computed colums and sql jobs to update those tables.

Keep up the good work anyway..


Hi
How do you stress test YAf in this way.i mean putting data in the forum.All of the software i have seen so far just test the SQL itself.

Thanks
Half of my life was elapsed in front of monitors, waiting for progress bars to reach their 100%.
Offline Demigod  
#178 Posted : Friday, May 2, 2008 9:23:49 AM(UTC)
Demigod


Rank: YAF Commander

Reputation:

Joined: 4/2/2007(UTC)
Posts: 59

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
It's been some time since any progress was posted on the status of 1.9.3. Is it any closer to beta or release?
Offline Mek  
#179 Posted : Friday, May 2, 2008 5:09:06 PM(UTC)
Mek


Rank: YAF Developer

Reputation:

Medals: Medal of Honor Key: Given to pillars of the community who are key players in the YAF community and project.Medal of Honor for the Support King: Given to a community member who tirelessly answers tons of support questions.

Joined: 7/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 1,705

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 21 time(s) in 19 post(s)
We're still fixing bugs as our time on the project allows, it's getting there.. just slowly.
UserPostedImage

"It's a case of RTFM.. the only problem being we don't have a manual!"

When I post FP:Mek in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting. (Yes I stole this off Ederon Smile )
Rss Feed  Atom Feed
Users browsing this topic
12 Pages«<101112
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Notification

Icon
Error